An amazing array of seed catalogues for 2012!

The dream of the summer to come

Come the middle of January each year my mailbox sags as the glorious and seductive seed catalogues come rolling in.  The pictures are so beautiful; the descriptions of each veggie and flower so tempting I could spend hundreds of dollars and end up with far, far more seeds than any city full of gardeners could possibly have space to plant.

So I luxuriate in pouring over the catalogues while sprawled on the couch under a blanket in the depths of winter.  I joyfully mark them up with my pen and sticky notes.  However I pretty much end up sticking to sorting all last year’s leftover seeds, making a planting plan from them, and only buying seeds I really need!  Ho Hum.

This year I thought I’d share the list of the catalogues that come to me so you too can send for them and endure the same torture I go through every year.  They are in no particular order of preference just the way the stack ended up next to my chair.

Seeds of Change www.seedsofchange.com

K. Van Bourgondien & Sons (Dutch bulbs and perennials) www.kvbwholesale.com

Abundant Life Seeds www.abundantlifeseeds.com

The Cook’s Garden www.cooksgarden.com

Tomato Growers Supply Company www.tomatogrowers.com

Totally Tomatoes www.totallytomato.com

Johnny’s Seeds (An employee-owned company)  www.johnnyseeds.com

Harris Seeds www.harrisseeds.com

Burpee www.burpee.com

Henry Fields www.henryfields.com

High Country Gardens www.highcountrygardens.com

Fungi Perfecti (Mushroom products) www.fungi.com

Pinetree Garden Seeds www.superseeds.com

White Flower Farm www.whiteflowerfarm.com

Jung Seeds & Plants www.jungseed.com

John Scheepers Kitchen Garden Seeds www.kitchengardenseeds.com

Select Seeds www.selectseeds.com

Vermont Bean Seed Company www.vermontbean.com

Territorial Seed Company www.territorialseed.com

Gurney’s Seed & Nursery Co. www.gurneys.com

Farmer Seed and Nursery www.farmerseed.com

Burgess Seed & Plant Co.  www.eburgess.com

R. H. Shumway’s Illustrated Garden Guide www.rhshumway.com